Day Six // Forgive Yourself

In my life, I have found it incredibly hard to forgive myself. I am a perfectionist. There will never be anyone in my life who criticizes me like I do! After every sermon, I walk off the stage and think “I could have done better”. After every mistake in my life, I think “I can’t believe I did that”. I believe it’s possible to think you have let go of your past without forgiving yourself. Of course, this isn’t fully letting go because the thoughts that linger in an unforgiven mind are torturous. When I don’t forgive myself, my mind runs wild with thoughts of unworthiness and shame. Not forgiving yourself is absolutely crippling. It hinders you in every area of your life. You may be able to get through it for a while, but eventually the weight of it will be too much to bear. Stop beating yourself up about your past. Today is the day of forgiveness. It’s okay to not be perfect. It’s okay to mess up, even in a gigantic way. You do not have to be sorry forever. Staying stuck on your mistake doesn’t make it any better. If you want to step into everything that God has for your life, accept the forgiveness He has given you. If you do that, then you will be able to step past your past and start living in your present.

Leave a comment